Header Ads

The Review of Styx New CD "The Mission"

The Review of Styx New CD "The Mission"

Review by Anita Maree Brodersen

Styx is back and Blasting Off with “The Mission”.
Styx fans are rejoicing with “The Mission”, their first studio album in 14 years.  The 14 song album showcases a classic side of the band while displaying a fresh new flow of catchy songs.  While each song is quite unique and stands on its own, if you listen to each song in order it literally takes the listener to a new frontier – that frontier is Planet Mars!  “The Mission” is a concept album about the first manned mission to Mars taking place in the year of 2033.  The album launches with an “Overture” that shows off the top notch music showmanship of guitarist/vocalist Tommy Shaw, guitarist/vocalist James Young, keyboardist/vocalist Lawrence Gowan, original bassist Chuck Panozzo, drummer Todd Sucherman, and bassist Ricky Phillips.  The rock toppers on this new album are “Gone Gone Gone” – with Lawrence Gowan handling lead vocals and the harmonies are right on and “Hundred Million Miles” with Tommy Shaw taking lead vocals on this one and really wishing this song was a few minutes longer. It is that good!  Lawrence Gowan’s soaring vocals takes over “The Greater Good” with the message of this song targeting straight into the heart.

- More at UnRatedMagazine.com

No comments

Brought to you by Zergnet