Header Ads

A Flock of Seagulls Drummers a One Man Wonder.

 A Bad Think was originally founded in Virginia Beach, then transplanted to Los Angeles. The band is driven by the many talents of Michael Marquart, one-man wonder and former drummer for British Grammy Award winning band A Flock of Seagulls.

In addition to A Flock of Seagulls, Marquart has performed and recorded with many outstanding artists including No Doubt, Alias, The Connells, Abra Moore, Sponge, Buffalo Tom, Frente, Love Spit Love, The Nixons and Dishwalla.

“On My Own” from A Bad Think’s first album is nominated for the 2010 eWorld Music
Awards (formerly Hollywood Music Awards).

Grammy nominated artist, A Bad Think is back with a new EP entitled Don’t Forget Us.  The EP is a collection of seven masterfully crafted modern alternative songs that is a glimpse inside the mind of singer-songwriter and sole member Michael Marquart.  The seven tracks on the EP are a continuum of Marquart’s impressive body of work that includes five full length albums and multiple music videos.  Fueled by powerful heart-felt lyrics, hypnotic undertones, huge choruses and infectious melodies, Marquart’s music is art in its purist form reflecting life and the human condition.          
 “My music is very cinematic that relies heavily on melody and structure” states Marquart. “I think about every single note played, every single word sang. I think about the spaces in-between the notes. Absolutely everything you hear is suppose to be there. I’m a bit OCD. Some might say that I over think my music, but this is just how I work.”  
Marquart was born in Ft. Atkinson, a small town in Wisconsin.  One of six children, he found solace in music early in life.  He started playing drums at the tender age of 10 followed by guitar at age 16.  “I went to a small collage as a music theory major and learned how to sight read and play piano.  I quit after one year because I got a job offer to play in an all original band called Diogenes.  From that day on I pretty much stayed on tour for the next 20 years or so going from band to band (Tokio Rose, A Flock Of Seagulls etc.) and Studio to Studio building my chops.”         
Don’t Forget Us. is the perfect soundtrack for these ever changing uncertain times.  The songs are chaos and beauty, darkness and life, hope and love.  A Bad Think captures the essence of the process and adventure of life, taking the listener on a journey where beauty and darkness can exist side by side.

The album was written and produced by Michael and mixed by Jason Elgin.   Mastered at Masterdisk by Roger Lian; engineered by Michael along with Skip Derupa and Chris Henry while being recorded at Windmark Recording.

Previous A BAD THINK releases include A BAD THINK (2006), SIMPLY RHYMES (2009), SARA LESS (2010), MEDICINE (2012) and SLEEP (2014).

http://www.youtube.com/user/ abadthink- Read the full story at UnRatedMagazine.com

No comments

Brought to you by Zergnet